The Australian Antarctic Program

Government, Research and Education Organisations

Get in Contact

Phone: +61 3 6232 3209

The Australian Antarctic Division is part of the Australian Government (Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water) leading the Australian Antarctic Program.

We manage Australia’s presence and activities in the Australian Antarctic Territory and the Southern Ocean, and in the sub-Antarctic Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands (HIMI) and their adjacent waters.

Our activities include:

  • leading a world class science program;
  • operating three permanent Antarctic research stations (Casey, Davis and Mawson), a sub-Antarctic research station on Macquarie island, and support facilities in Hobart.;
  • managing a combined sea, air and continental transport capability;
  • administering and managing the Australian Antarctic Territory and the sub-Antarctic Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands;
  • representing Australia’s interest in international Antarctic forums and negotiations.

In summer up to 500 people travel south to work at our Antarctic and sub-Antarctic research stations and to conduct marine science. Most people remain for a short time – from weeks to a few months – while small wintering teams will remain up to 15 months.  Expeditioners include scientists, professionals and tradespeople to run and maintain our stations, voyage management to resupply our stations by ship, aviation teams to support our varied aviation needs, policy-makers, and media and arts representatives.